Thermofluids

Department: Mechanical Engineering

Dr. Mahabat Khan

Designation: Head/Supervisor

Research group head Profile

Muhammad Mahabat Khan has a Ph.D. in Computational Fluid Dynamics from Ecole Centrale de Lyon, France. He has worked as advanced development engineer in Continental Automotive, France for more than five years. His research interests include; Large Eddy simulation of turbulent flows, modeling and simulation of fuel injection systems, multiphase flows, heat transfer enhancement.

Introduction of the group

The Thermo-Fluids Research Group at the department of Mechanical Engineering at Capital University of Science and Technology involves a group of multidisciplinary researchers with a clear focus on both fundamental and applied research in thermo-fluids including aerodynamics, multiphase flows, HVAC, sprays and combustion, computational fluid dynamics, turbulence, renewable energy and thermal and hydraulic augmentation.

Members

S. No Name Email Designation
1 Dr. M. Mahabat Khan drmahabat@cust.edu.pk Head/Supervisor
2 Dr. Liaquat Ali Khan drliaqat@cust.edu.pk Member
3 Dr. Saif ur Rahman saifurrahman@cust.edu.pk Member
4 Dr. Khawar Naveed dr.khawar@cust.edu.pk Member
5 Dr. Muhammad Irfan m.irfan@cust.edu.pk Member
6 Mr. Saif Ullah saifullah@cust.edu.pk Member
7 Mr. Atif bin Asghar atif.asghar@cust.edu.pk Member
8 Engr. Abubakr Ayub abubakr.ayub@cust.edu.pk Member
9 Engr. Muhammad Ahmed muhammad.ahmed@cust.edu.pk Member
10 Engr. Madeeha Khan madeeha.khan@cust.edu.pk Member

 

Research Areas

  1. Atomization and sprays, Large Eddy Simulation of turbulent flows, Coherent structures in turbulent flows, Multiphase flows, Particulate flows, Free surface flows, Phase change, Combustion, Heat transfer enhancement, Ejector Refrigeration, Phase behavior, Heat Exchangers, Renewable energy, Refrigeration and air conditioning, exergetic analysis of thermal system, optimization of thermal systems etc.